Designed and built with care, filled with creative elements

Furness Academy

Trust Governance

Furness Education Trust Governance

Below details the Furness Education Trust Governance Structure, including information regarding our members, trustees and various committees. Our Trust Board is chaired by Mr Adam Hearnden. His contact address is: BAE Systems, Bridge Rd, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 1AF

Trust Declaration of Interests 2020-2021

Members (Akin to Shareholders)

The Members of an academy trust have a different status from the Trustees. The Trust Members are akin to shareholders in a company setting and are the representatives of the Sponsor Body. They are the subscribers to the Trust’s Memorandum and any other person(s) permitted to become Members under the Articles of Association.
Members like shareholders have limited powers regarding the day-to-day operation of the Trust but they are responsible for holding the Trustees to account. They meet formally once per year, at the Annual General Meeting (AGM), where they appoint the External Auditors for the forthcoming year and receive the Trust Accounts. Members can call additional formal meetings (Extraordinary General Meetings or EGMs) at any time in accordance with the Articles of Association. EGMs tend to be rare in occurrence but can be called to deal with Trust issues as required.


  • Sponsor BAE Systems Marine Limited (Corporate entity represented by Cliff Robson (MD))
  • Sponsor Member: Craig Bland – Project Director SSNR
  • Sponsor Member: Janet Garner – Principal, Submarines Academy for Skills and Knowledge, BAE Systems Submarines

Trustees (Akin to Directors)

The Trustees are appointed by the Trust’s Members and/or Sponsor. They are akin to Directors in a company setting. They are responsible under the Trust’s Articles of Association for controlling its management & administration and for ensuring that the Trust remains solvent, well run and delivers the Trust’s charitable outcomes.
As trustees of a charity the Trustees must comply with the statutory duties of directors under the Companies Act and the duties of charity trustees conferred by Charity Commission regulations.

The Trust Board’s key responsibilities are:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. Holding the Executive Headteacher and Headteacher(s) to account for the educational performance of the Trust and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the Trust and making sure its money is well spent.Additional members can become a part of the Governing Body as agreed by the sponsors, and we are always open to suggestions.

Member Appointed Trustees

  • Adam Hearnden (Trust Board Chair) – Nuclear Safety & Security Director, BAE Systems Submarines
  • Ted Creighton – Head of Early Careers / Skills, HR Services, BAE Systems
  • Mark Woodham – Head of IM&T Product Management, BAE Systems Submarines
  • Graeme Corkill – Project Chief Engineer, BAE Systems Submarines
  • Hilary Ellam – Independent Consultant
  • Jane Dean Wilcock – Head of Business Strategy and Reporting, BAE Systems Submarines
  • Stuart Knagg – Operations Area Manager, BAE Systems Submarines
  • James Brimelow – Senior Finance Manager, BAE Systems Submarines

Co-opted Trustees

  • John Shields (Trust Board Vice Chair – Education Specialist
  • Anne Burns – Local Authority Representative
  • Dave Kelly – Education Specialist
  • Vacancy


The Trust also has various committees, each of whom is responsible for a different area of Academy Trust provision. Details of each committee can be seen below:

Quality of Education & Standards Committee

  • Dave Kelly (Chair)
  • Ted Creighton
  • Stuart Knagg
  • Hilary Ellam
  • Simon Laheney (CEO)
  • Vacancy

Remuneration, Search & Governance Committee

  • Adam Hearnden (Chair)
  • Jane Dean-Wilcock
  • John Shields
  • Dave Kelly
  • Vacancy x 2

Audit & Risk Assurance Committee:

  • Jane Dean-Wilcock (Chair)
  • Ted Creighton
  • Anne Burns
  • Mark Woodham
  • Hilary Ellam
  • Vacancy?

Finance & General Planning Committee:

  • Adam Hearnden (Chair)
  • Graeme Corkill
  • Stuart Knagg
  • James Brimelow
  • Vacancy